Writing Awards

The Conlon Awards are given annually to the best analytical writing by a first-year student. These awards commemorate Michael Conlon, a former Writing Center Consultant. The winners are chosen by a committee of students who are Peer Consultants from the Writing Center.

The 2015 Conlon Awards

1st Prize: Emily Purdom: "All Walser's World's a Stage"

2nd Prize: Shae Eldridge: "Feminism versus Motherhood"

3rd Prize: Yash Raj Agrawal: "Faceless"

The 2014 Conlon Awards

1st Prize: Rebekah Wade: "Instructions on How to Fall Asleep."

2nd Prize: Yulkendy Valdez: "Living Death: Examining the Ambiguities of Dying in The Tiger's Wife."

3rd Prize: Jacqueline Genova: "Tolkein's Revelation of Recovery."

The 2013 Conlon Awards

1st Prize: Maya Lacy: "A Place Where There Isn't Any Trouble: Dorothy Gale's Domestic Destination."

2nd Prize: Alexis Yioulos: "Wandering As an Act of Defiance."

3rd Prize: Pimprapat Snidvongs Na Ayudhay: "The Dynamic Self through the Eyes of Scott McCann."